Research Competitiveness Working Group

The Research Competitiveness Working Group was formed in Spring 2024 to work with the Office of Research to draft a multiyear, systemwide plan to enhance WSU research competitiveness, including prioritized areas for internal investment and steps to strengthen, grow, and diversify research-active faculty and faculty-led collaborations/ and research proposals.

The members of the committee include:

  • Haluk Beyenal, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, VCEA
  • Anjan Bose, Regents Professor, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Doug Call, Senior Vice Provost and Regents Professor, Paul G. Allen School for Global Health
  • Leslie Edgar, Associate Dean for Research, CAHNRS
  • Patricia Hunt, Regents Professor, School of Molecular Biosciences
  • Lois James, Assistant Dean for Research, CON
  • Julie Kmec, Chair and Professor, Sociology
  • Courtney Meehan, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, CAS
  • Judy Morrison, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Programs, WSU Tri-Cities
  • Jon Oatley, Associate Dean for Research, CVM
  • Christine Portfors, Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education, WSU Vancouver
  • Mike Pumphrey, Assistant Professor, Crop and Soil Sciences
  • John Roll, Associate VP for Health Sciences Research

If you have questions or would like to provide input, please email