Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Welcome! We hope that this can be a landing spot for contacting researchers studying AI at WSU.  This is a growing list currently being compiled. At present, it has more than 20 AI researchers spanning over multiple colleges and multiple campuses.

 

If you are interested in receiving AI news and highlights, join our listserv! (https://lists.wsu.edu/mailman/listinfo/ai-wsu)


 

AI Researchers @ WSU

 NameAreas of Interest

Broschat, Shira

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

bcb.eecs.wsu.edu
• machine learning
• microbiology applications
• antimicrobial resistance

Cook, Diane

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

djcook@wsu.edu
• AI foundations
• Machine learning
• Biomedical informatics

Dasgupta, Nairanjana (Jan)

Department of Mathematics and Statistics

dasgupta@wsu.edu
• Statistics
• Data analytics
• Bioinformatics

Doppa, Jana

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

jana.doppa@wsu.edu
• AI foundations
• Machine learning
• Data-driven science and engineering

Dubey, Anamkia

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

anamika.dubey@wsu.edu
• Power system optimization and control
• Distributed energy resources
• Machine learning

Ficklin, Stephen

Department of Horticulture

stephen.ficklin@wsu.edu
• Agricultural systems
• Molecular biosignatures
• Machine learning

Gebremedhin, Assefaw
WSU AI Point of Contact

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

assefaw.gebremedhin@wsu.edu
• Data science and AI
• Graph algorithms and network science
• Cyber security, energy systems and bioinformatics

Ghasemzadeh, Hassan

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

hassan.ghasemzadeh@wsu.edu
• Wearables
• Healthcare
• Machine learning

Holder, Larry

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

holder@wsu.edu
• AI foundations
• Graph mining
• Smart environments

Jockers, Matthew

Department of English

matthew.jockers@wsu.edu
• Literature
• Text mining
• Natural language processing

Kalyanaraman, Ananth

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

ananth@wsu.edu
• Computational genomics
• Graph algorithms
• High performance computing

Karkee, Manoj

Department of Biological Systems Engineering

manoj.karkee@wsu.edu
• Agricultural automation
• Machine vision
• Sensing technologies

Khot, Lav Ramchandra

Department of Biological Systems Engineering

lav.khot@wsu.edu
• Agricultural automation
• Remote sensing
• Crop physiology

Lofgren, Eric

Paul G. Allen School for Global Animal Health

eric.lofgren@wsu.edu

• Computational epidemiology
• Antimicrobial resistant infections
• Modeling

Main, Doreen

Department of Horticulture

dorrie@wsu.edu
• Crop genomics
• Crop genetics
• Breeding

Makin, David Alan

Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology

dmakin@wsu.edu
• Criminal justice
• Complex social interaction
• Machine learning

Pappu, Hanu

Department of Plant Pathology

hrp@wsu.edu
• Virus diseases of horticultural crops
• Plant pathology
• Biotechnology

Rajagopalan, Kirti

Department of Biological Systems Engineering

kirtir@wsu.edu
• Hydrological impact of global change
• Biophysical modeling
• Water and agriculture

Sankaran, Sindhuja

Department of Biological Systems Engineering

sindhuja.sankaran@wsu.edu
• Agricultural automation
• Remote sensing
• Crop phenotyping

Schulz, Noel

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

noel.schulz@wsu.edu
• Power engineering and AI applications
• Microgrids
• Women in leadership and engineering

Srivastava, Anurag

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

anurag.k.srivastava@wsu.edu
• Smart grid
• Resiliency
• Data analytics in power engineering

Stockle, Claudio

Department of Biological Systems Engineering

stockle@wsu.edu
• Soil, weather, crop interaction
• Crop system modeling
• Analytical tools

Tang, Juming

Department of Biological Systems Engineering

jtang@wsu.edu
• Food engineering
• Thermal processing
• Heat and mass transfer in food processing

Vaughan, Joseph

The Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

jvaughan@wsu.edu
• Air quality
• Computational methods
• Modeling

Venkatasubramanian, Mani

School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

mani@wsu.edu
• Stability theory of nonlinear systems
• Power system oscillation monitoring
• Synchrophasors

Zhang, Qin

Department of Biological Systems Engineering

qinzhang@wsu.edu
• Agricultural automation
• Farming machinery
• Crop health sensing

Become part of the AI Community